John Sexton, JD, PhD


John Sexton, the fifteenth President Emeritus of New York University, also is the Benjamin Butler Professor of Law and NYU Law School's Dean Emeritus. He joined the Law School's faculty in 1981, was named the School's Dean in 1988, and was designated the University's President in 2001.  He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and he serves on the Board of the Institute of International Education.  He is a past member of the Executive Committee of the Association of American Universities, and past Chair of the American Council on Education, the New York Academy of Sciences, and the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities of New York. He has served as the Chairman of the Board of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and Chair of the Federal Reserve Systems Council of Chairs.  In 2012, he received the NASPA President’s Award, which is given annually to a college or university leader who has, over a sustained period of time, advanced the quality of student life on campus by supporting student affairs staff and programs. In March 2015, he received the TIAA-CREF Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence, recognizing outstanding leadership on the part of a college or university president or chancellor.

Subscribe to the Mary Christie Quarterly

The Mary Christie Quarterly provides news, information and commentary on the policy issues that impact the health and wellness of young adults.   You can access past issues of the Mary Christie Quarterly here .